How to Share Your Outlook Calendar in the Windows Desktop App

This document shows how to share an Outlook calendar using the Windows Outlook app. It also describes how to change permissions of those you have already shared your calendar with.
  1. If it is not already open, open your calendar by clicking on the Calendar Icon on the bottom left corner of the screen.
    Close up of icon options in Outlook. The calendar icon is circled.
  2. In the ribbon on the top of the screen click on Share Calendar to open a drop-down menu.
    Close up of Outlook Calendar options. Share Calendar icon has a dropdown menu with the Calendar option highlighted.
  3. From the drop-down menu, choose the calendar that you would like to share or change permissions on.
  4. Click Add... to select a user to share your calendar with.
    Calendar properties pop-up to show Permissions tab with "Add..." selected
  5. Type the name of the user who you would like to share your calendar with in the search bar on the top left. This search system isn't the best, so you may have to type their name in exactly as it appears on the email (Example, "Anderson, Jen" instead of "Jen Anderson").
    Pop-up showing search results for people who the calendar could be shared with
  6. Click on Add and then OK at the bottom.
  7. Now it's time to decide how this user can view your calendar by setting the permissions. You can change these settings at any time. To change a specific user, highlight their name, and choose an option under "Permissions."
    Permission options for calendar sharing
    Note: Any user at UIUC can add your calendar to theirs. The default is that they can only see when you are available/busy, and they cannot view details of your calendar. To change the permissions of everyone who adds your calendar, click My Organization.
  8. You can change how each user views your calendar in the "Permissions" section of the window. Here's what each of the options mean:

Option Name What It Does
Can view when I'm busy Calendar entries will be shown as blocks of time where I am either "busy" or "available". Users cannot view titles, locations, or other details that I have saved to each event.
Can view titles and locations Users will be able to see the information that I have entered in the title and location fields of my event, but no other details.
Can view all details Users can see all of the information about the events in my calendar.
Can edit Users will be able to edit the information and events in my calendar.
Delegate Users can see all the details of my calendar, edit it, and share it with other people.

How to Change the Permissions of Someone Who Has Access to Your Calendar

  1. If it is not already open, open your calendar by clicking on the calendar icon on the bottom left corner of the screen.
    Close up of icon options in Outlook. The calendar icon is circled.
  2. In the ribbon on the top of the screen, click on Share Calendar to open a drop-down menu.
    Close up of Outlook Calendar options. Share Calendar icon has a dropdown menu with the Calendar option highlighted.
  3. From the drop-down menu, choose the calendar that you would like to share or change permissions.
  4. In the pop-up window, select the user that you would like to change the permissions of.

    Note: Anyone at UIUC can add your calendar to theirs. The default is that they can only see when you are available/busy, and they cannot view details of your calendar. To change the permissions of everyone who adds your calendar, click My Organization.
    Pop-up showing who you are currently sharing your Outlook calendar with and their permission level.
  5. In the section labeled "Permissions," select how you would like this user to view your calendar.

Permission options in Outlook calendar

Option Name What It Does
Can view when I'm busy Calendar entries will be shown as blocks of time where I am either "busy" or "available." Users cannot view titles, locations, or other details that I have saved to each event.
Can view titles and locations Users will be able to see the information that I have entered in the title and location fields of my event, but no other details.
Can view all details Users can see all of the information about the events in my calendar.
Can edit
Users will be able to edit the information and events in my calendar.
Delegate Users can see all the details of my calendar, edit it, and share it with other people.

6. Click OK, and you're done!



KeywordsOutlook, calendar, sharing calendar, Windows   Doc ID124879
OwnerMelissa F.GroupSchool of Information Sciences
Created2023-03-15 15:26:56Updated2024-05-23 15:16:20
SitesUniversity of Illinois School of Information Sciences
CleanURLhttps://answers.uillinois.edu/windows-app-how-to-share-your-outlook-calendar
Feedback  0   0