Learn@Illinois Moodle - Adding Users

This guide helps instructors add students manually to their course site.

For a permanent link to this information, please use: http://go.illinois.edu/MoodleAddingUsers

Generally, students are enrolled automatically into their courses' Moodle sites, within 48 hours of registering for the class on Banner. Manual enrollment allows instructors to adjust permissions for teaching assistants and additional instructors/administrators. You can also use it to expedite access for students who add the course late.
  1.  In the menu on the left, click Participants.
    Click Participants
  2. In the upper right corner, click the Enroll users button. 
    Enroll users
  3. Start typing the user's name or NetID into the "Search" box and the user will appear below if they are not already enrolled in your course.
    Selecting users
  4. Click the grey box with the user's name to add them to your course.
    Click the user

  5. Now that the user has been added to your course, their name will appear in a highlighted box above.
    User successfully added

  6. Repeat this process for additional users.
  7. Under "Assign role", select whether you would like the user to be a Student, Teacher, or one of the other roles in your course.
    Assign role
  8. Click Enroll selected users and cohorts.
    Enroll selected users and cohorts
Note: If a user does not appear in the search results and they are not already in your course, it likely means that their account has not been created. Please ask the user to log into https://learn.illinois.edu so that their account will be created in the system. The user can then be added to a course site. If the user is not a part of the University of Illinois system, contact atlas-tlt@illinois.edu for more information.

Note: Manually enrolling a student on a Moodle course will not automatically add them to the course on Banner.

Unenroll Users

  1.  In the menu on the left, click Participants.
    Click Participants
  2. Click the Unenroll (trash can) icon.
    Click Unenroll
  3. Confirm by clicking Unenroll.
    Confirm by clicking Unenroll
    Note: If the student is still officially enrolled in the course, they will keep appearing in your course again until they officially drop the course.

Moodle.org Documentation




Keywords:moodle, administration, enrollment, student, manual   Doc ID:71333
Owner:ATLAS-TLT .Group:University of Illinois Liberal Arts and Sciences
Created:2017-03-03 14:16 CDTUpdated:2019-07-10 15:23 CDT
Sites:University of Illinois Liberal Arts and Sciences
Feedback:  0   2