New Accounts and Account Management for Illinois Confluence Cloud/Atlassian
Your Wiki account is now managed by Engineering IT. What does this mean?
The Grainger College of Engineering is now hosting its own instance of Confluence via Engineering IT. This means all current and newly provisioned Confluence accounts will be managed by Engineering IT.
This only applies to accounts for Confluence. Engineering IT does not and will not manage accounts under other Atlassian products. This includes Jira, Bitbucket, Trello, and other applications provided by Atlassian. Please refer to your usual support contact for those applications.
How do I know that I have a new wiki account? How will I know if my Confluence account is managed by Engineering IT?
You should have received an email from Atlassian stating your account is now managed by illinoiswiki. This means we have claimed your Confluence account as a seat on our cloud instance. An example of that message is shown below:
How long willI have access to the new Wiki?
As long as you remain affiliated with the Grainger College of Engineering, you will retain your account to the wiki
Those who leave the college or the university will lose their seat on the wiki. The wiki will still be viewable publicly for all those in the University.
I do not use the wiki, so why is my Atlassian account being managed?
By default, everyone will be given a seat on the new cloud instance. This means by default everyone will have a Confluence account that is managed by Engineering IT. If you are not using the wiki there is nothing you will need to do. Engineering IT is only managing Confluence accounts under Atlassian. Accounts for other Atlassian products, such as Jira and Trello, will not be managed by Engineering IT.
The email states that “illinoiswiki admins can make changes to your account, including deactivating or deleting it.”. Does this mean Engineering IT can also delete my accounts on other platforms?
Engineering IT can only deactivate accounts for Confluence under the new wiki. This means your seat on the wiki will be revoked, and you will no longer be able to access the wiki in an edit manner.
Engineering IT does not have access to manage, deactivate, or delete accounts that are registered on other Atlassian products.