Canvas, Conclude and restore student enrollments in a course

this document details how to manually conclude and restore student enrollments in a Canvas course.

Occasionally it may be necessary to manually adjust student enrollments in a course. Teachers can do this in Canvas by following these steps:


Deactivate (conclude) student in a course:

  • Navigate to the “People” menu in your course
  • Locate the student you want to “Deactivate”
  • Click on the student’s full name under the “Name” column
    1. This opens a context menu on the right-hand side of the page
  • Click on the student’s full name again
    1. This takes you to the students contact page within the course
  • Click “Conclude” in the Memberships section
    1. This removes the student from the course along with any work produced in the course
  • Confirm that you want to conclude the student in the course

 

Re-activate (restore) student in a course:

  • Navigate to the “People” menu in your course
  • Add this text to the end of the URL in the browser:  “/prior”
    1. NOTE:  do not add the quotes
  • Find the student you need to restore and click their name
    1. NOTE:  do NOT click the “Total”
  • Click “Restore” in the Memberships section
  • Navigate back to the “People” menu in the course confirm that the student is again a member





Keywords:canvas canvas@illinois enroll courses delete student remove   Doc ID:112401
Owner:Mark R.Group:University of Illinois Technology Services
Created:2021-07-15 16:33 CDTUpdated:2021-08-27 15:49 CDT
Sites:University of Illinois Technology Services
Feedback:  0   0