Blackboard Collaborate, Participant Guide

This document provides an overview of the participant experience in a Blackboard Collaborate live session.

A more comprehensive participant's guide is provided by Blackboard: https://en-us.help.blackboard.com/@api/deki/files/12935/Participant's_Guide.pdf

Participant Privileges

All participants and moderators in a session will be listed in the Participants panel.  By default the Participants panel is located on the left side of the window.

The default privileges for participants include:

The Chat

Participants can use the chat feature to communicate with each other or moderators.

In the default layout, the Chat panel is located in the bottom left corner of the window.

The chat log auto-scrolls as class participants send chat messages. You can also manually scroll to review the chat history. The log will contain all chat messages sent since you logged into the Blackboard Collaborate Session.

The textbox is where you can type chat messages to send press enter. You can paste text into the chat box using keyboard shortcuts (Windows: ctrl+V or Mac: command+V). The greyed-out smiley face provides access to several emojis.

When you first log into Blackboard Collaborate as a participant, you will not be able to see any chat tabs. One or more tabs will appear below the textbox if you become a moderator, send a private chat message, or receive a private message. Tabs marked by a name indicate private messages. A Moderator tab is automatically available to anyone with moderator privileges. All chats sent through the Room tab will be seen by everyone and any chats sent through a tab marked with a person’s name will only be seen by that person.  Chat tabs are always located at the bottom of the Chat panel.

Participants can send private messages to other participants or moderators:

Feedback Buttons

The feedback buttons provide a variety of ways for participants to interact with course content and the instructor.

The feedback buttons are located below your name in the Participants panel. The four feedback buttons signal emotion, away status, raise hand, and respond to poll.

Signal Emotion opens a dropdown menu listing several feedback signals including: Smiley Face, LOL, Applause, Confusion, Approval, Disapproval, Slower and Faster. When you select an option, everyone in the session will be able to see the symbol under your name in the Participant panel. The symbol will remain for a minute before disappearing. screenshot of the emotion dropdown menu

Use the Away Status button to signal when you have stepped away from your computer.

Use the Raise Hand button to signal to the professor when you wish to speak using your microphone. When participants "raise their hands" Blackboard places them in the order in which they clicked the button.

The Respond to Poll feedback button opens a dropdown menu from which you can choose a response. When you chose a response, it will show up next to your name in the Participants panel. A Moderator can then chose to publish the responses to the Whiteboard. The contents of the dropdown menu can change depending on the type of poll.

The Whiteboard

The Whiteboard is a space for visual interaction. It functions primarily as a display for uploaded Powerpoint presentations.  It can also be used as a collaborative area to write and draw.

There are a number of tools that can be used to interact with the Whiteboard. These tools include a pen, text boxes, chip art, and a pointer.  To use, select a tool from the menu and then click in the Whiteboard area.
Exporting Slides: To save the slides on the Whiteboard select File > Save > Whiteboard.

In the pop window that appears, select Selected Pages. Choose the slides that you would like to save and then click OK.

Breakout Rooms

Breakout Rooms in Blackboard Collaborate allow the class to break into smaller groups for discussion and group work.

Participants can be moved by Moderators, or if permissions are turned on, they can move themselves into and out of Breakout Rooms. When in a Breakout Room you will not be able to hear any audio or see any chat from the Main Room. Your Breakout Room activity will not be archived or recorded. The chat and the Whiteboard can be manually saved. Moderators can copy any Whiteboard activity from the Breakout Rooms to the Main Room.

Moderators can toggle the option to allow participants to move themselves to breakout rooms. Participants have three methods for moving into and out of Breakout Rooms.