This KB article describes best practices in sharing digital signage.
Adding content to be shared is nearly identical to adding non-shared content. The two differences are:
Suggested best practices:
When sharing content with other campus units, it is important that you set the Recurrence properties of each content item to reflect a beginning and ending date/time that determines when content is allowed to play on any sign, regardless of whether it is your own sign or not. This is valuable when you would want content related to an event to not play before a certain date and stop playing when the event is over.
You can set recurrence when bringing the content item into Content Manager or afterward. By default, the suggested recurrence is “All day every day effective” of when the content was added into the system.
To change the default recurrence:
To use content that is being shared by your own or by other departments, drag and drop the content item(s) from the shared category to the timeline. Place it in the desired region of your template that is attached to a sign or multiple signs via a Playlist.
Do not create a copy of shared content in your own content category as the resulting content item Recurrence settings will not be controlled by the department that is sharing the content. It is best to leave the Recurrence settings to the department sharing the content with the campus. Otherwise, a content item related to an event (for example) could play on your signs well after the event is over.