How to Share Your Outlook Calendar (Browser)
- Open your Outlook calendar.
- If necessary, sign in by following the prompts on the page.
- In the top right of the screen, click on Share.
- From the drop-down menu, choose the calendar that you would like to share. Note: if you have not added or created any additional personal calendars, it will automatically choose the Calendar option.
Important note: Anyone within the UIUC system can add your main calendar, which is permanently named "Calendar." You can choose what viewing permissions they have when they add this calendar, as explained later on in these instructions.
If you choose Calendar, the screen will look like this:
The "Inside your organization" section allows you to change what permissions users have when they add your calendar. These permission, and what they mean, are explained in further detail in the table later on in these instructions.
If you select a calendar that you have added to Outlook, the screen will look like this:
- In the box, enter the email of the user you would like to share your calendar with. Since this user will be in the UIUC network, you can simply start typing in their name and their profile should appear.
Outlook will then allow you to edit the user's permissions:
Here is what the different options mean:
Option What it Does Can view when I'm busy Calendar entries will be shown as blocks of time where I am either "busy" or "available". Users cannot view titles, locations, or other details that I have saved to each event. Can view titles and locations Users will be able to see the information that I have entered in the title and location fields of my event, but no other details. Can view all details Users can see all of the information about the events in m calendar. Can edit Users will be able to edit the information and events in my calendar. Delegate Users can see all of the details in my calendar, edit it, and share it with other people.
You can change the permissions at any time, as explained in the "Changing How People can View your Calendar" section.
If you change your mind and do not want to share your calendar at the moment, click on the Trash Can Icon to the right of "Share".
- Click Share to save your selections.
The user will receive an email stating that you shared your calendar with them. They can also add the calendar without accepting since you have already given them permission.
If they are not using Outlook in a web browser, they may need to log into the browser version.
You're done! This user will now be able to view your calendar with whatever permissions you have given them. These permissions can be changed at any time, and you can stop sharing your calendar with them at any time.
Changing How Users Can View Your Calendar
These steps can be followed if you would like to...
- Change the permissions of a user whom you have already shared your calendar with.
- Would like to change how users can see your calendar when they add it on their own.
- Would like to stop users from seeing your calendar.
- Would like to stop sharing your calendar with a specific user.
- From the main calendar page, click on Share on the top right corner.
From the drop-down menu, choose the calendar that you wish to stop sharing.
The pop-up that appears will show all of the permissions that are applied to your calendar.
"People in my organization" will change how users will see your calendar when they add your calendar on their own. "Can view when I'm busy" is the default setting for this permission. This option is further explained below.
Here are the different options that you have:
Option What it Does Can view when I'm busy My calendar entries will be shown as blocks of time where I am either “busy” or “available. Users cannot view titles, locations, or other details that I have saved to each event. Can view titles and locations Users will be able to see the information that I have entered in the title and location fields of my event, but no other details. Can view all details Users can see all of the information about the events in my calendar. Can edit Users will be able to edit the information and events in my calendar.
- Once you select an option, it will automatically be saved, and you'll be all set!
You can also change sharing and viewing permissions for individual calendars by following the steps in this article.