How to Share Your Outlook Calendar in the Mac Desktop App

A guide to sharing Outlook Calendar on the Mac Desktop App

  1. If you are not already on the calendar portion of the app, you can navigate there by clicking on the Calendar Icon on the left side of the screen.
    Calendar Icon

  2. In left side tab, a list will appear with your calendar and any calendars you have added (including those that have been shared with you). Hover the mouse next to your email address until three dots appear. Click the three dots icon.



  3. Select Sharing Permissions from the drop down menu.



  4. The pop-up that appears will allow you to change permissions that are already in place, or add new users who can view your calendar.

  5. To share your calendar with someone click on the Plus Sign in the bottom left corner.
    Plus sign icon

  6. Type in the name (last name first) or email of the person you would like to share your calendar with. The results will show users from all three Illinois campuses, so double check that you select the right person! Select the user who you would like to add.
    Highlighted name

  7. At the bottom of the window, select the permission level that you would like this user to have.

    Permission level menu

    Here's what the different options mean:

    Option What it Does
    Can view when I'm busy Calendar entries will be shown as blocks of time where I am either "busy" or "available". Users cannot view titles, locations, or other details that I have saved to each event.
    Can view titles and locations Users will be able to see the information that I have entered in the title and location fields of my event, but no other details.
    Can view all details Users can see all of the information about the events in m calendar.
    Can edit Users will be able to edit the information and events in my calendar.
    Delegate Users can see all of the details in my calendar, edit it, and share it with other people.
    Delegate - can view private events Users can see all of the details in my calendar–including private events, edit it, and share it with other people.
  8. Click Add when you are finished.

To Change the Permissions of People Who Can See Your Calendar

  1. Highlight the name of the user for whom you'd like to change the permissions.

  2. Click the Double Arrow Icon on the right of the highlight

    Double arrow icon

  3. Choose the permission that you would like.
    Permission level menu


    Here's a breakdown of what the different options mean:

    Option What it Does
    Can view when I'm busy Calendar entries will be shown as blocks of time where I am either "busy" or "available". Users cannot view titles, locations, or other details that I have saved to each event.
    Can view titles and locations Users will be able to see the information that I have entered in the title and location fields of my event, but no other details.
    Can view all details Users can see all of the information about the events in my calendar.
    Can edit Users will be able to edit the information and events in my calendar.
    Delegate Users can see all of the details in my calendar, edit it, and share it with other people.
    Delegate - can view private events Users can see all of the details in my calendar–including private events, edit it, and share it with other people.
  4. Once you have chosen the permissions you want, click OK at the bottom of the window. Now the user can view your calendar according to the permissions you have set! You can change these at any time by following these same instructions. If you would like to remove them completely, highlight their name and click the minus sign in the bottom left corner of the window.



KeywordsCalendar Outlook, calendar, sharing calendar, Mac, Apple   Doc ID128307
OwnerMatthew M.GroupSchool of Information Sciences
Created2023-05-16 10:20:20Updated2024-01-08 16:38:06
SitesUniversity of Illinois School of Information Sciences
Feedback  0   0