KB groups operate under their own document retention policies. Often, an occasion comes up where a document needs to be completely updated, but it may not be deleted as a result of these policies. Other circumstances where this redirect can be used is when a document is oft referenced, widely bookmarked/ or had a memorable document ID number but still needs to be retired and replaced by widely overhauled information. A document redirect may be set in place. The KB can facilitate a solution seamless to the end user by means of a redirect placed in the See Also also field.
In the image below, the SeeAlso field is circled in red, the Document ID number in that field is
3000-01-01 00:00:00by clicking on the Never link .
In the image below, the Never link has been clicked, this action autopopulates the date
3000-01-01 00:00:00 into the Expiration field.
On the Live Site, (attempt to) open the document that has been deactivated by entering the Document ID into the search field. The system will check to see if this "obsolete" document has a Document ID number in the "See Also" field. Next, the KB System verifies that the redirected document is Active, to prevent potential infinite loops. Your link may appear to "jump" to a different but related document. The word
redirect will appear in the url.
In the image below, the obsolete document redirected to a document with the ID of
XXXXXX. Of course, your updated Document ID number will appear in the place of the
Finally, you are redirected to the active and superseding document.