Topics Map > Documents Tab

KB User's Guide - Documents Tab - Changing a Document's Status to "Deleted"

NoteInformation symbol

You must have full administrative permissions in your space to perform these steps. This means access to the Documents, Settings, and Users tabs.

Sometimes you may want to delete a document that is no longer necessary or that was created in error. Before moving forward, please consider the document retention policies of your KB Group and that of your institution.

What Happens When I Delete a Document?

When you "Delete" a document, the original status (e.g. In Progress, Inactive, etc.) of that document is changed to "Deleted" and the document is moved to the Trash. The "Trash" can be accessed directly via the Documents tab side navigation.

A document in the Trash can still be recovered and re-activated if needed, as long as it has not been purged. For more information on purging documents, please see KB User's Guide - Documents Tab - Purging Content in Trash Queue Documents.

Deleting a Document

  1. Open the KB Admin Tools and locate your document.

  2. If the document you are deleting is currently Active, first set the document to Inactive. The "Delete" button will only appear if the document is Inactive, In Progress, or In Review.

  3. While viewing the document, click the Delete button above the document (on the far right of the row of buttons).

    On the document review screen, the delete button will at the end of the group of buttons that loads between the document ID heading and the document title
  4. A dialog window will appear asking you to confirm that you wish to delete the document. Click OK to proceed with deleting the doc.

Once deleted, the document will only be found in the KB Admin Tools in the Trash queue. If the document needs to be restored at a later time, only someone with Publish rights will be able to do so. See KB User's Guide - Documents Tab - Restoring a deleted document for more information about restoring deleted KB documents.



    Keywordskb user's guide user instructions delete deleting documents remove inactive trash removing inactivate deactivate   Doc ID5724
    OwnerLeah S.GroupKB User's Guide
    Created2007-04-10 19:00:00Updated2023-08-14 13:18:45
    SitesKB Demo, KB Demo - Child Demo KB, KB User's Guide
    Feedback  1   0