This document explains how to transfer document ownership from one user to another via the Documents tab by either editing an individual document to reassign ownership, or by performing a Batch Update to reassign many documents at once.
Important: Until the document has been reactivated, the ownership transfer will not officially take effect. While the draft version of the document in the KB Admin Tools will show the new owner, the Active version will still display the previous owner.
Additionally, all notifications for the document (e.g. feedback, Review Reminders, Expiring notifications, etc.) will continue to be sent to the previous owner until the document is set to Active.
If you need to perform an immediate ownership transfer without publishing other changes that may have been saved to the draft version of a document, please follow the steps below for using the Batch Update tool.
If you have Publish rights within a group space, you may also reassign the ownership of a number of documents at once by performing a Batch Update. Please see the following document for instructions on using the Batch Update tool: KB User's Guide - Documents Tab - The Batch Update Tool
Important: If a document is in dual status (e.g. Active/In Progress) when performing an ownership transfer via the Batch Update tool, the ownership transfer will take effect in both versions of the document.
This means that all notifications for the document (e.g. feedback, Review Reminders, Expiring notifications, etc.) will start to be sent to the new owner immediately upon performing the update.
If you need to reassign documents owned by a user that you are planning to remove from your KB space, please instead refer to: KB User's Guide - Users Tab - Batch Transfer Document Ownership