Zoom - Participant - Breakout Rooms
Joining Breakout Rooms in Zoom 5.3.1 and later
Participants in Zoom meetings can select and join breakout rooms independently. This feature is available for Mac, Win, and mobile devices.
After the Host opens the Breakout Rooms, you may see the Breakout Rooms button appear in the Zoom tray of buttons. If you have been pre-assigned to a group, as College of Medicine students often are for class situations, you may either automatically be moved to your group or you may see a pop up button inviting you to join your assigned breakout room. These features were available in many previous version of Zoom.
However, if the Host has "Allow Participants to Choose Room" enabled, then participants will be able to see the list of rooms and you as a participant can select which one you want to join, if you were not automatically assigned, and move between rooms as desired. See the example below:
Select "Breakout Rooms"
- Select "Join a breakout room"
- You will see the Breakout Rooms popup window
- Left of each breakout room name is a carat that will reveal all current members of that room.
- Right of the name is the number indicating number of members in the room.
Join a particular Breakout RoomIf you mouse over the number, you will have the option to Join it.
- Zoom may ask you to confirm the room you are joining.
Leave RoomWhile in a Breakout Room, the "Leave Meeting" button is replaced with a "Leave Room" button as shown:
- When you choose Leave Room, you might return directly to the main room, or you may be presented with a pop-up choice between "Leave Meeting" and "Leave Room"