Persistent Chat, Create and Manage a Chat Room

On this page, you can learn how to create, manage, and disable a Persistent Chat room.


Any Urbana Campus user with a Lync account that uses the Lync 2013/Skype for Business client for Windows can create a new Persistent Chat room.

Using these instructions, you can quickly get started creating your own persistent chat rooms.

Create a new chat room

  1. In the Lync main window, in the Chat Rooms view, click the Add a room button Add a room, then click Create a Chat Room on the drop-down menu. (If you don’t see these options, please submit a ticket to the Help Desk via email (consult@illinois.edu)or phone 244-7000)

    NOTE: Currently, new chat rooms can only be created if your computer or device is using an on-campus network IP address.   
     
  2. On the My Rooms page that opens, click Create A New Room.
    Manage Chat

Name your new chat room

When you create a chat room you’ll want to give it a unique and descriptive name.

  1. In the Create a room window, in Room Name, enter a name. Choose a name that is prefaced with your department's name (ex: TchSvs-WinSGChat) and does not contain insulting or offensive words. Your room's name can contain up to 256 alphabetical, numeric, or special characters, including spaces, in any combination.
  2. Click the Check Names icon to make sure it’s not already being used. If it is, you’ll be prompted to pick another name.

If you decide to change the room name later, the new name will be displayed for you and the room’s members and followers going forward. It’s a good idea, though, to find an appropriate name to start with and then stick with it. Changing a room name can create confusion for users who’ve set up notifications, or added your room as a Favorite.

Write a chat room description

When you create your chat room, click Description on the Create a room window, and enter an explanation of the room’s purpose. Keep your description short (256 characters maximum), and write it so it helps others decide whether to request membership and whether to set up notifications to keep tabs on what’s being discussed in it. You can change the description at any time.

Select a privacy setting

Every Lync chat room has a privacy setting, which controls who can find and participate in it. The three settings are:

  • Open – Anyone can find this room (via search), open it, and read and write in (“post to”) it. Open rooms have no “membership” as such.
  • Closed – Non-members can find this room and see who is a member, but only members can open the room, read or post to it. (This is the default setting.) To join a closed room, the user must ask a manager of the room to be added to the members list. The room card identifies the chat room managers.
  • Secret – Non-members won’t be able to find this room or its room card, learn who has membership in the room, or read or post to it.

You can change the privacy setting for a room you manage at any time. For more information about chat room privacy settings and room membership, see Understanding chat room membership.

Add or remove chat room managers

As the room manager, you can add others as managers to share the management duties for a room you’ve created. (As explained below, managers must appear in the pool of potential members for the room category that your room belongs to.)

To add a room manager, open the chat room window and, in the Managers field, type the name of anyone you want to assign as a co-manager. Like you, these managers can add room members and edit some room settings. Once you’ve added your managers’ names (separated by semi-colons), be sure to click the Check Names button to confirm that Lync can identify these people. Your new co-managers won’t automatically become room members─you’ll have to add them as members.

Add or remove chat room members

As the room manager, you can control who can join the closed or secret rooms you create. (Rooms with a privacy setting of “open” do not require or allow membership.) That is, you can add members as you see fit. You can also remove members from the room. In Members, enter the names of people to invite to be room members. You’re automatically a member of any closed or secret room you create.

If you don’t want to notify your contacts that they’ve been made members of your room, select the No invitations sent to members button. Otherwise, depending on the corresponding setting of the Parent room category your room is identified with, notifications will or will not show up in each member’s New list (just like a contact notification) on the Chat rooms view of the Lync main window.

Confirm your chat room settings

Once you’ve selected the appropriate options as described above, click the Create button.

Manage a chat room

Who gets to manage a chat room

You can manage a Lync chat room under these conditions:

  • You’ve created a chat room, which makes you that chat room’s manager by default
  • You’ve been named as chat room manager by the person who created the room
  • You have chat room administrator permissions. This lets you manage any chat rooms in the Lync environments you control.

If you’re the manager of a chat room, you’ll see your name in the Managers box on the chat room’s Room card.

As a room manager, you control most of the settings of the chat rooms you manage. In addition to creating your own persistent chat rooms, you can change their privacy levels, assign additional room managers responsibilities, and add or remove members. You can change the names and descriptions of the rooms you manage; and, finally, you can disable a room, which locks members out of the room.

This table lists the action and what you can and can’t do as a room manager.

Action Can room manager do this action?
Create a chat room Yes
Name or rename a chat room Yes
Create or revise a chat room description Yes
Select or change a chat room privacy setting Yes
Add or remove members of a chat room Yes
Choose not to send notifications (“invites”) to new members Yes
Add or remove managers of a chat room Yes
Disable a chat room    Yes
Re-enable a disabled chat room No
Delete a chat room No
Restore a deleted chat room No
Delete a chat room post No
Delete a chat room’s history No

You’ll carry out your room management tasks on the Edit a room page. Here’s how to get there:

  1. In the Lync main window, click the Chat Rooms icon to display the chat rooms view.

Chat Rooms

  1. Click the Member of pivot label to see a list of the rooms you have access to.
  2. Pause on the Chat room icon Door Icon on the listing for the room whose settings you want to change.
  3. Click the Open room icon Chat Room .
  4. Click the More button More (lower right corner of the chat room window).
  5. Click Manage this Room.

Manage this room
  1. You’re now on the Edit a room page, where you can change the room’s settings as previously mentioned. Click Commit Changes when you finish.

Disable a chat room

Sometimes you might need to disable a chat room you manage. Once you disable a room, users won’t be able to find or join it, and anyone currently joined (including you as the room manager) will be removed.

Disabling a room might be necessary for a number of reasons. Maybe the room has served its purpose or has been superseded by a more active room whose focus overlaps with yours. Here’s how to disable the room.

  1. Open the Room Management window (see above), and click Disable. A dialog box prompts you to confirm that you want to disable the room.

Disable

  1. To proceed, click OK. To cancel this action, click Cancel.




Keywords:Lync, Lync 2013, chat room, persistent chat, privacy settings, managers, members, settings, disable Skype for Business 2015   Doc ID:49295
Owner:Lync M.Group:University of Illinois Technology Services
Created:2015-03-19 17:32 CDTUpdated:2017-06-09 12:55 CDT
Sites:University of Illinois Technology Services
Feedback:  0   0