Remote Wipe is a feature of Exchange to allow individuals to remotely wipe their mobile device.
Remote Wipe is a feature enabled for all Exchange mailboxes. It is available to be used by an individual on their own mobile devices as a means of protecting their data should their devices be lost, stolen, or no longer actively used. This feature can be used from the Settings > General > Mobiles Devices Menu in Outlook for the Web.
Technology Services will not use this feature to remote wipe customers' mobile devices.
When configuring active sync for your Exchange mailbox you may be asked to allow Exchange to have administrative rights on your device. This is to allow the Exchange Remote Wipe feature to be functional on your device. You must allow this level of access for your Exchange mailbox to be configured correctly on your device.
The other administrative controls available for Exchange are to allow the enabling or disabling of specific features on mobile devices via a policy. By default Technology Services does not control any features of personal mobile devices.
University Administration customers have a policy applied to require a device password. This is to ensure security over the data and functions that come with the Exchange mailbox on their device.