How can I copy or move individual materials in Blackboard?

An instructor can move materials in Blackboard Learn from one course to another. Any Content Item, including Course Links, External Links, Folders, Learning Units, Off line Content and Tools can be copied from one folder or Course to another folder or Course. Copying content does not delete the content from the original location unless Delete Item After Copy is selected. Content that is deleted after a copy is moved to the new location and does not exist in the original location any longer.

Note: This article is for manually copying/moving individual materials. If you would like to request the LTS to perform your course copy, please send your request via https://accc.uic.edu/forms/blackboard-learn-course-request/.

Copy Content

Instructors can copy Content Items from one of their Courses to another of their Courses, and from one Folder to another Folder in the same Course. Follow the steps below to copy Course content:

  1. Open the Content Area containing the piece of content to copy or move.
  2. Edit Mode is ON.
  3. Select Copy from the contextual menu for the content item. (If Copy does not appear, this option in not available). The Copy or Move Item page appears.
  4. Select the Destination Course from the drop-down menu. The default setting is the current Course. Only courses where the Instructor has a role permitting copying content will appear in the list.
  5. Select the Destination Folder. Use Browse to locate the desired folder.
  6. Select No for Delete Item After Copy.

Move Content

Instructors can move Content Items from one of their Courses to another of their Courses, and from one Folder to another Folder in the same Course. Follow the steps below to move Course content:

  1. Open the Content Area containing the piece of content to copy or move.
  2. Edit Mode is ON.
  3. Select Copy from the contextual menu for the content item. (If Copy does not appear, this option in not available). The Copy or Move Item page appears.
  4. Select the Destination Course from the drop-down menu. The default setting is the current Course. Only courses where the Instructor has a role permitting moving content will appear in the list.
  5. Select the Destination Folder. Use Browse to locate the desired folder.
  6. Select Yes for Delete Item After Copy.



Keywords:course copy, content copy, move content, empty shell   Doc ID:83674
Owner:Szymon M.Group:University of Illinois at Chicago ACCC
Created:2018-07-13 13:48 CSTUpdated:2019-09-17 08:55 CST
Sites:University of Illinois at Chicago ACCC
Feedback:  0   0