Gradrecs: Can you help explain the sharing settings for Notes and Documents?

explain the sharing settings for Notes and Documents

“All Users” (default) also includes anyone in any unit with Viewer access as well as Users, Contributors, Managers.  Basically, anyone that can look up a student.

Now, there’s a couple caveats to that.  

  1. Viewers can only look up students that they are the listed advisor (either in banner or in our own advising app’s db). 

  2. Users can only look up students within their own unit.


While someone may enter a note and share it with All Users, the note will only be visible if the gradrecs user is able to look up the student.  If the user is a “Viewer”, then the student with the note shared with All Users would have to have the user as his/her assigned advisor for the user to be able to access the student.  If the user has the “User” role, then the student would have to be in the user’s unit for the user to look up the student. 

Contributors and Managers can look up any student, present or past, from anywhere on campus.  While users can only lookup within their unit and viewers can access only assigned advisees.

But if someone from DGS, for example, enters a note and sets it to be visible by All Users for a student from Computer Science, then the assigned advisor in CS who may only have the Viewer role will see the note.




Keywords:gradrecs, portal,   Doc ID:84627
Owner:AppDev A.Group:University of Illinois Engineering IT
Created:2018-08-08 09:54 CSTUpdated:2018-08-08 10:04 CST
Sites:University of Illinois Engineering IT
Feedback:  0   0