Topics Map > Communication & Collaboration > Conferencing > Zoom

How do I protect my Zoom sessions?

This article provides direction on how to protect your Zoom lecture or meeting. Please weigh these options carefully to find the right balance between providing access and protection.

With increased Zoom usage, new risks have emerged. Institutions have experienced situations where unknown persons are joining unsecured Zoom meetings and causing disruptions, also known as "Zoombombing".

To help prevent disruptions to meetings and online instruction, it is strongly recommended that meeting organizers take steps to protect their Zoom meetings.

Effective Tuesday, March 31, 2020, UIC enabled password protection for ALL newly created Zoom sessions, and applied password to all previously scheduled Zoom sessions.

Access Zoom settings

  • Go to https://uic.zoom.us and click the "Sign in" button.
  • Click the Settings button on the left-hand side of the screen.
  • This will take you to the "Settings" page, which has 3 tabs/buttons across the top: "Meeting", "Recording", and "Telephone".
  • Select the "Meeting" section

Password protection on your meetings

The below settings for password protection of your meetings are now required, and cannot be turned off.


Additional Settings Options

The following settings can also be applied to prevent someone from taking over your lecture or meeting. These settings will apply to previously scheduled sessions. Please consider how you are using Zoom before toggling these settings. For example, disabling screen sharing will make it harder for participants to share content in an interactive class or meeting.

  1. Allowing only authenticated users to access your meeting:
  2. Waiting Room:
    • You can enable the Waiting Room feature, and set it so only un-authenticated users are placed in the waiting room. This means the host will need to admit these individuals to the meeting.
      Zoom_WaitingRoom.PNG
  3. Screen sharing:
    • You can set Sharing to Host Only - note this is the default setting for all Zoom users effective March 26th, 2020
    • You can still allow users to share within a meeting even if this setting is configured this way.
  4. File Transfer
    • Please disable this unless you absolutely need it for collaboration purposes. We recommend file sharing through Box or Blackboard.
  5. Annotation:
    • Please disable this unless you absolutely need it for collaboration purposes.

In-meeting instructions to help manage unwanted participants who join your meeting:

  1. Allow host to put attendee on hold
    • Please enable this setting to allow the host to temporarily remove an attendee from the meeting:
  2. Allow removed participants to rejoin
    • Please enable this setting to disallow removed participants from rejoining the meeting:
    • IMPORTANT: Even if this setting is disabled, participants that are inadvertently dropped from the meeting because of poor internet or cellular connection will be allowed to rejoin.

Restrict Chat Messages:

Within the meetings, hosts can choose who their users can chat with.   If you feel like you can manage chat, but only want to make it available for messaging between you, the host, and your participants, please change the setting to “Host Only” 

Host only chat option


Mute All Participants and Disable UNMUTE Microphone for All Participants

Both settings are configured during a meeting in progress. Please be comfortable with understanding their location and functionality as you may need to rely on them in a pinch.
  1. Once you've started your Zoom Meeting, select Manage Participants from the bottom screen toolbar 
  2. The Participants panel will appear, click Mute All at the bottom of the screen
  3. Then select More from the lower right corner and a drop down will appear.
  4. Un-check Allow Participants To Un-mute Themselves
  5. Select Continue

Locking the Meeting after it has started

Use this with caution: After the meeting has begun, you can lock the meeting, preventing anyone further from joining. Similar to the Allow Participants to Un-mute Themselves above this option is located in the in-meeting controls and must be activated after a meeting has begun. To find the lock meeting control please follow the steps below:
  1. Once you've started your Zoom Meeting, select Manage Participants from the bottom screen toolbar 
  2. The Participants panel will appear, 
  3. Then select More from the lower right corner and a drop down will appear.
  4. Check: "Lock Meeting"
  5. Select Continue


Require Registration

This setting can be used to get more information about a participant before they attempt to join the meeting. You can then automatically or manually admit registered participants. If someone registers who should not be there you can simply deny their admittance. This will require more coordination on your part.


How to Remove a Disruptive Participant from a Session

If you have already begun a session and find an unwanted attendee has joined:

  1. If the Participants panel is not visible, click Manage Participants at the bottom of the Zoom window.
  2. Next to the person you want to remove, click More.
  3. From the list that appears, select the person and  click Remove.

Questions and Assistance

Contact your local IT team for assistance or guidance, or contact the ACCC Service Desk at consult@uic.edu

See Also:




Keywords:Zoom, roulette, chat, block, remove, protecting, webinar, settings, privacy, Zoombombing, privacy protection   Doc ID:99814
Owner:Anthony M.Group:University of Illinois at Chicago ACCC
Created:2020-03-31 14:11 CDTUpdated:2020-04-07 15:57 CDT
Sites:University of Illinois at Chicago ACCC
CleanURL:https://answers.uillinois.edu/uic/zoom-protection
Feedback:  0   0