Endpoint Services, Workspace ONE, Putting an iOS Device in Lost Mode
This article describes how to use Workspace ONE to enable Lost Mode on a lost or stolen iOS/iPadOS device.
Workspace ONE Unified Endpoint Management (UEM)
University of Illinois IT Pros leveraging Technology Services Endpoint Service Workspace ONE UEM for iOS/iPadOS management
Workspace ONE offers the ability to enable Lost Mode for an iOS or iPadOS device that has gone missing or is suspected to be stolen. Lost Mode is supported on supervised devices running iOS 9.3 or higher.
Putting a device in Lost Mode will lock the device and present a custom message and phone number on the lock screen. An additional option to request device location may be used to enable location services on the device and obtain its current location. The device will remain locked until Lost Mode is disabled by an admin in the Workspace ONE console; it can't be disabled by the end user.
After Lost Mode is disabled, the device will return to normal functionality.
You should enable Lost Mode if you suspect that a device has been stolen. But you can also use Lost Mode to determine the current location of a device that has simply been lost or misplaced.
To enable Lost Mode:
- In the Workspace ONE console, navigate to Devices > List View > Device Details.
- At the top right, go to More Actions > Admin and select "Enable Lost Mode". This will only be offered as an option for supervised devices on iOS 9.3 and up.
- Enter the message, phone number, and footnote you want to be displayed on the device.
- After Lost Mode has been enabled, you will see an additional option to "Request device location" (see below). Selecting this option will forcibly turn on location services, even if currently disabled on the device, and will request an immediate location sample from the device when it next connects to a cellular or wireless network.
- To disable Lost Mode, return to the 'More' menu and select "Disable Lost Mode".