Topics Map > Documents Tab
KB User's Guide - Documents Tab - Validation Tools
This tool allows you to preview your document without saving. To preview your page:
Hover over the Preview button found at the bottom left of the body window, then choose Internal site or External site as desired.
This will bring up a new window that will show how your document will look once it is published to the site you selected.
Compare to active version
This allows you to compare the document you are editing in draft mode with the version that is live on the website. To compare a draft with the live doc:
Click on the Save change button at the bottom left of the body window.
Click the Compare to active version link at the bottom right of the body window.
This will bring up a new window displaying the draft version of your document on the left, and the current live version on the right.
- Differences will be color coded at the bottom of the screen.
This tool allows you to see a list of all of the changes that have been made to a document. To view the revision history:
Click on the Save change button at the bottom of the body window. Any unsaved changes will be lost when you view the revision history.
Click the Revisions link at the bottom of the body window.
This will take you to the Revision History screen which lists when the document was changed, in reverse chronological order. It indicates who made the updates, and the date of the update. Each version of the document is viewable by clicking on the title of the document. You can also compare versions of the document by checking the appropriate boxes in the Compare column and then clicking the Compare Selected button at the bottom of the page.
Each revision will appear with its appropriate number in chronological order.
You may choose to edit the document as it is by clicking on the Back to editing document # button.
You may return to the revision list by clicking on the Back to revision list button.
You may restore to the version of your choice by clicking the Restore with this version button. A message will appear indicating that the document has been successfully restored. From that window, you can choose to view or edit the document.
You may choose to save a document revision as a new document by clicking on the Save this version as a new document button. You can retrieve content from the old version of a document and activate it as a separate doc.
The Show Changes button (Internal Live KB sites only)
The Show Changes button appears on the upper right side of a the screen when looking at the document on the internal KB site only.
Clicking on this button will display a pop up window called Show Changes: document ID #. Only text content of the current version and the last active version are compared. A message is displayed if the document has no previous active versions to compare. At the very bottom of this pop-up window you'll find:
- deleted (old) text is crossed out and red,
- inserted (new) text is underlined and green.
Images, videos and formatting changes are ignored.
The image below shows an example of changes between the current version and the last active version of a document.